Howard Hsu conducts the VSO.

The Stirring of the Soul

November 7, 2015 at 8:00pm
in Whitehead Auditorium.

Simone Dinnerstein
Simone Dinnerstein

"...arresting freshness
and subtlety..."

--Time Magazine
World-renowned pianist Simone Dinnerstein joins the VSO for a performance of Brahms's imposing First Piano Concerto, a work that heralded the appearance of Beethoven’s true successor. Kodály's Dances of Galánta captures the stirring Hungarian folk music of his youth.
Symphony Notes
  • Mussorgsky Khovanshchina: Introduction (Dawn on the Moskva River)
  • Kodály Dances of Galánta
  • Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor
        Simone Dinnerstein, piano